Tuesday 5th February 2019

Student Rugby Squad Announced to take on Ireland

Head Coach James Wade has announced the final 23-man travelling Scottish Students Rugby squad to face Ireland this Sunday, 10th February.

Glasgow University RFC Coach Wade, together with his assistants Black and McCarthy have picked a squad spanning eight institutions and will hope to blend a number of proven playing relationships at university level alongside a number of new links and new partnerships across the park.

The wider 30-man squad have been in training for the past three weeks, coming from across the country to take part in a range of physical and classroom-based training sessions to prepare themselves for what will be a stern test in Ireland, who ran out victors in last year’s Peffermill fixture. Rob Lind will lead the team on Sunday, and the University of St Andrews player is buoyed by the standard of student rugby in Scotland, “Given that this is the first away fixture for Scottish Students Rugby in a number of years, the boys are keen to lay down a marker for the future. I am confident that we can translate the success the Scottish universities are enjoying in the BUCS leagues into a strong performance on Sunday. It’s a huge honour to be chosen as captain for a team filled with such talented individuals, hopefully, I can serve them well”

Ben Philip, Head of Competitions at Scottish Student Sport, was grateful for the dedication from all involved, saying; “We are delighted to be sending a team to Ireland after hosting them in 2018. This training squad will give us the chance to ensure that the athletes selected to travel will be the best that the Scottish student body has to offer. Huge thanks go to the coaching team and to manager Guy Richardson for the work they have put in to pull this squad together and for the work they will do this month putting the players through their paces preparing them for what will undoubtedly be a stern test.”.


Andy Orr – University of Stirling
Ross Gordon – University of Glasgow
Owen Jackson – University of Strathclyde
Billy Dineen – University of Stirling
Erik Cavan – University of Strathclyde
Bryce Robertson – University of Stirling
Lewis Govenlock – University of Aberdeen
Graham Malley – University of Glasgow
Cameron Reece – University of Glasgow
Rob Lind (c)* – University of St. Andrews
Ryan Sweeney – University of Glasgow
Duncan Wither* – University of Strathclyde
Michael Keegan* – University of Glasgow


Alex Ball – Heriot Watt University
Harry Warr – University of Glasgow
Kerr Stoddart (vc)* – University of Glasgow
Fraser Gosse* – University of Glasgow
Josh Laird – Abertay University
Max Stobbs – University of Aberdeen
Ben Eynon – University of Strathclyde
Sam Harrison – University of Stirling
Nathan Brown – University of Aberdeen
Martin Cimprich – Queen Margaret University

*denotes previous Scottish Student representation

The game kicks off at 14.00 on Sunday 10th February at the Queens’ University, Belfast.