Friday 3rd February 2023

Getting To Know Netball

If you’re interested in getting involved in Scottish Student Netball, find out everything you need to know here!

Key Information


Netball is a sport similar to basketball, but it has certain rules and differences. It is played by two teams of seven players, with the aim being to score goals by throwing a ball into a raised net. The ball is passed between players by throwing it with one hand and players are not allowed to run with the ball. Instead, they must pass it to a teammate or take three steps before being required to pass.

Governing bodyNetball Scotland

Netball has the highest female participation numbers within Scottish Student Sport! Increasing year on year, there are currently 48 teams entered across 8 BUCS leagues from 15 Scottish Universities and Colleges. Many Scottish university teams also compete in local association leagues, regional ladders and national competitions. Here are some of the institutions that have a student netball team:

  • Abertay University
  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of St Andrews
  • Heriot Watt University
  • Robert Gordon University
  • Glasgow Caledonian University
  • University of Glasgow
  • Strathclyde University
  • Fife College
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Stirling
  • University of Dundee
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • Queen Margret University



  • Conference Final
  • Recreational Netball Festival