Friday 19th January 2018

Men’s National Rugby Squad Announcement 1718

Scottish Student Sport is delighted to announce the selected men’s training squad for the 1718 season.

Scottish Student Sport is delighted to announce the selected men’s training squad. The team will face Scotland U19s at the end of February and compete in an exciting international fixture against Irish Students in early March.

The squad will assemble for training sessions throughout February to prepare for the fixtures with an extremely strong group of players who will look to build on last season’s reincarnation where they put the student game back on the international map. Players have been selected from Scotland’s top performing institution teams with a specific criteria being put in place by the management team.  Selected students represent University of St Andrews, University of Edinburgh, University of Glasgow, University of Strathclyde, University of Dundee and University of Stirling.

Ben Philip, Head of Competitions at Scottish Student Sport, said: “It is great that the Scottish Student Rugby squad will again compete against Scotland U19s in 2018. The match against Irish Students adds a further challenge for the team. The size of the student rugby programme in Scotland means it is only right that we have a team to showcase the quality of player in the system and to offer the opportunity to the best students from our institutions to represent their country of study.”

Scottish Rugby’s Student and Participation Manager, Darren Burns added:  “Scottish Students’ Men’s Rugby Team recognises and rewards the top performing players from the student game.  More and more players are attracted to playing a creative style with and against their peers.  This increase in student numbers, along with the excellent rugby programmes offered by institutions, has seen the standards of student rugby rise and they will be very competitive games against Scotland U19 and Ireland Students”.

Forwards                                                           Institution

Murray Devine                                                    University of Dundee

Rob Thomas                                                        University of Edinburgh

Nick Stephen                                                       University of Edinburgh

Edward Russell                                                   University of Edinburgh

Scott Burnside                                                    University of Edinburgh

Archie Whittingham-Ingram                             University of Glasgow

Jonny Spence                                                      University of Glasgow

Chris Barnes                                                        University of Glasgow

Theo Nwosu-Hope                                             University of Glasgow

Charlie Thomson                                                University of Glasgow

Fraser Christie                                                     University of Glasgow

Stephen Tue                                                         University of St Andrews

Fergus Bradbury                                                 University of Stirling

Lyall Archer                                                          University of Strathclyde

Duncan Wither                                                    University of Strathclyde

Angus Neilson                                                     University of Strathclyde

Finlay Simpson                                                    University of Strathclyde


Backs                                                                 Institution

Max Stobbs                                                        University of Aberdeen

Bruno Smith                                                      University of Edinburgh

James Small-Edwards                                       University of Edinburgh

Robbie Kent                                                       University of Edinburgh

Ben Rose                                                            University of Edinburgh

Jon Price                                                             University of Edinburgh

Kerr Stoddart                                                    University of Glasgow

Fraser Grossse                                                  University of Glasgow

Finn Murphy                                                     University of St Andrews

Toby Hall                                                           University of St Andrews

Scott MacGregor                                              University of St Andrews

Roland Walker                                                  University of St Andrews

Luke Earl-Wright                                               University of Stirling

James Couper                                                   University of Stirling

Owen Jarvie                                                        University of Stirling


More information on the fixtures vs Scotland 19s and Irish Students will be released shortly.


More information:

Head of Competitions at Scottish Student Sport, Ben Philip

SS Men’s National Rugby Squad Team Manager, Guy Richardson

Twitter: @sss_rugby and @ScotStuSport

Facebook: and