“Hockey players have fire in their hearts and ice in their veins.”

Who plays?  There are 15 Universities that currently make up the league structure in Scotland.

What is there? The BUCS leagues, coordinated by SSS, boast 5 men’s leagues and 7 women’s leagues with many universities having two to three teams. Each year, the men’s and women’s teams also compete in the Conference Cup, a knock-out competition with the eventual winner decided at the SSS Conference Cup Finals. Further to this, the lower leagues in the women’s section compete in a similar cup competition, the Conference Plate. In addition, many Student Hockey Clubs also take part in local, regional and national leagues, both indoor and outdoor, providing more opportunities for hockey for a wide range of abilities during the course of the season.

When does all this happen? BUCS Men’s and Women’s Leagues, with fixtures played on Wednesday afternoons from October to the end of March.

Sport Chair: David Bond


Governing Body:
Scottish Hockey

For all British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS) Hockey information, please visit the BUCS website.