Key Information

Our main discipline is Small Bore Rifle. The main event is our Indoor Grand Prix series which comprises 5 GPs, held across Scotland through the winter and early spring. We also have our Indoor Championship, held at a neutral range and concluding with a head-to-head final for the Championship title, and the Outdoor Championship which is held at Aberdeen’s Denwood Ranges each year. This comprises shoots at 50m and 100 yards distances, as well as a match on electronic targets, and runs concurrently with the Annual Ball and Prizegiving event. We also hold a Postal League to allow students to participate from their home range! Many Scottish Students also take part in matches outside the University circuit, both across Scotland and the wider UK.

Have a chat with your Sports Rep or Fixtures Administrator for more details and to enter!

Sport Chair: James Gutteridge
Contact: sssriflechair@gmail.com

Governing Body: Scottish Target Shooting 

Upcoming Rifle Events

You might want to know…

  • 2022/23 SS Rifle Postal League medallists can be found HEREand full results can be found HERE. Well done to all who participated!

Meet your Sports Chair

James Gutteridge

James is new to the role of SSS Rifle Chair for the 2022/23 Season and oversees the organisation and development of SSS Rifle.

James first took up rifle in 2006 at school. He went on to shoot with both the Glasgow University and Edinburgh University clubs, holding a number of committee roles including captain and match secretary. His proudest achievement in student rifle was becoming SSS Outdoor Individual Champion in the 2015/16 season. James is currently a member at Watsonian Rifle Club in Edinburgh and continues to help with the coaching of their junior section as well as helping with occasional coaching for Edinburgh University alongside his own shooting.

Related News

Scottish Governing Body of Sport

Kit Provider


2021-2022 League Results

2019-2020 League Results

2018-2019 League Results

2017-2018 League Results and Archived

2021-2022 Championship Results

2019-2020 Championship Results

2018-2019 Championship Results

2017-2018 Championship Results and Archived