Wednesday 1st February 2023

Want to know more about Cycling before joining a society? Here’s a quick overview of the sport and what SSS has to offer.

When it comes to modes of transportation on land and sea, there will almost certainly be a corresponding sport that uses said modes to race. Cycling is no different. Invented in 1917 by Karl Von Drais, the bicycle has become one of the world’s most popular transportation tools due to its ease of accessibility and relatively cheap cost.

Cycling, as a sport, is very broad as there are several cycling events. In the Olympics, cycling is split into four categories: Road Cycling, Track Cycling, Mountain Biking and BMX. These all work in a similar fashion where two or more cyclists (apart from BMX where it’s taken in turns) will race across a predetermined path where the competitor who finishes with the fastest time is declared the winner. The difference between these events is the terrain they take place on.

Cycling has been an Olympic event during the entirety of its modern resurgence. Great Britain is the most successful nation in Olympic history with 33 gold, 26 silver and 20 bronze medals. At the 2020 Olympics, Great Britain won six gold medals where they won the Women’s Keirin, Men’s Omnium, Women’s Madison, Men’s Cross-Country, Women’s Race and Women’s Freestyle.

Each year Scottish Student Sport hosts the SS Cycling Series where universities compete with each other to be crowned the SS Cycling Challenge. There is also a BUCS League for students to get involved with. If you wish to know more, click the following link:

If you’re interested in joining a Cycling club, click the following links:


Heriot-Watt University:

University of Aberdeen:

University of Dundee:

University of Edinburgh:

University of Glasgow:

University of Stirling:

University of Strathclyde:


Chair Head: Fred Hockey –

Governing Body: Scottish Cycling –

Follow us using: #ScotStuCycling


Monday 4th April 2022

A quick recap of the Scottish Student Cycling Time Trial Championships

A quick recap of the Scottish Student Cycling Time Trial Championships

Cyclists from numerous Scottish institutions and clubs met in a small village in East Lothian on this past Sunday to take part in the Time Trial Championships. The sun was beating down as the cyclists set off at one-minute intervals from the starting point. The course ran for 15.2km along country roads and included a couple of steep descents along the way. The relative tranquillity around Pencaitland gave way a circuit of intense competition, as the quiet country roads became punctuated by cyclists powering downhill in an effort to attain the fastest time.

The team category consisted of the University of Glasgow, the University of Edinburgh, and the University of Dundee. However, there were representatives from a number of other universities as well as non-student clubs. As the cyclists trickled back to the starting point, the atmosphere was jubilant. The competitors caught their breath and rehydrated in the mid-afternoon sun as the organisers tallied up the times. Eventually, all gathered around the podium as the winners were announced.

The University of Edinburgh came out on top in the Student Team Championship, with a combined time of 1:39:13. They were followed by the University of Glasgow (1:39:47), and the University of Dundee (2:04:25).

Representing the University of Stirling, Cameron Richardson won the Men’s Student Championship with a time of 21:08. Trailing Cameron came Angus Toms of the University of Edinburgh (21:47), and Matiss Robertson of the University of the Highlands & Islands (21:59).

In the Women’s Student Championship, Kate Richardson of the University of Glasgow came out on top with a time of 24:55. The runners-up were Arianne Holland of the University of Edinburgh (25:47), and Miriam Gilbride of the University of Glasgow (27:39).

In the non-student Male category, the winner was Aaron Gannicot (22:14), followed by Joseph Agnew (23:03), and Neil Sheppard (23:21). In the non-student Female category, the winner was Carolyn Chambers (28:40), followed by Michelle Highfield (29:45), and Charlotte Forbes (32:45).

Many thanks to Aaron Johnson, Scottish Student Cycling Chair, as well as Gregor McArthur, Edinburgh University Cycling Club Race Secretary for making this event possible!

View the full image gallery here.