Friday 14th June 2024

Read about the eight worthy winners of our 2024 SSS Awards, handed out at a ceremony on Wednesday evening at the Stirling Court Hotel.

Aonghus Sellar collecting the Dr Rob Macpherson Quaich from Dave Baker of Decathlon UK on stage

The annual Scottish Student Sports Awards took place on Wednesday 12th June at Stirling Court Hotel, where eight deserving recipients were rewarded for their commitment over the season.

The awards up for grabs on Wednesday night celebrated everyone from our top performing athletes and clubs, through to our hard working volunteers and the coaches delivering success on the student stage.

Thank you to everyone who helped the night run so smoothly. Particular thanks must go to Decathlon who supplied a range of exciting prizes for our winners. The successful recipients of the two man tent were the talk of the night!

Here’Fs who walked away with the awards on Wednesday.

Coach of the Year: Dean Robertson (University of Stirling)

Under Dean’s guidance, the UoS Golf Club have achieved remarkable national and international success in the past 12 months. His golfers have delivered consistent podium finishes across all SSS Golf competitions (men’s, women’s & team), and delivered team league success in both the Conference Cup and BUCS Championship.

This athletes also achieved top three finishes in the R&A Student Tour, while Dean has been appointed as the GB&I Captain for the Walker Cup later this year – setting a new benchmark for student golf at the highest level in the amateur game.

Also shortlisted:

  • Mat Trodden (University of Edinburgh, swimming)
  • Stuart Milne (University of St. Andrews, football)

Club of the Year: University of St. Andrews Tennis Club

With a record 400+ members, Saints Tennis combined performance and participation by achieving the highest number of BUCS points in the institution while simultaneously running a very successful recreational programme.

Tennis Scotland’s 2x University of the Year delivered over 16 hours of weekly sessions, including adding new pickleball and other racket sports to their offering. Outside of the univeristy, they launched three community outreach and workforce development project, including their Tennis for Girls initiatives which introduces tennis to new female junior players, and their parents.

Also shortlisted:

  • University of Dundee Dance Club
  • University of Aberdeen Futsal Club
  • University of Stirling Men’s Rugby Club

Team of the Year: University of Edinburgh Women’s Orienteering

It’s been a year of domination for UoE’s female orienteerers. They secured the top six teams at the Scottish Student Orienteering Championships, and lifted their 10th consecutive BUCS title. Such was their strength, they won 56 out of the 60 BUCS points available in women’s orienteering this year! Five individuals were selected to represent GB at the FISU World Orienteering Championships.

Outside of student sport, their athletes enjoyed multiple podium finishes at the British Orienteering Championships, and six athletes have been selected to compete in international competition.

Also shortlisted:

  • University of Strathclyde Women’s Water Polo 1’s
  • University of St. Andrews Women’s Football

Male Athlete of the Year: Charlie Aldridge (University of Edinburgh)

Reigning Male Athlete of the Year Charlie made it a second successive title on Wednesday and it’s no surprise seeing his list of accolades this season.

The now professional XC rider competed in four rounds of the 2023 UCI World Cup and picked up European bronze at U23 level.

His crowning moment, however, came when he collected a first rainbow jersey by winning the 2023 UCI World Championships, competing at home in the Tweed Valley.

Also shortlisted:

  • Ben Sandilands (SRUC, athletics)
  • Greg Lobban (Heriot-Watt University, squash)

Female Athlete of the Year: Megan Keith (University of Edinburgh)

2023/24 has been a real breakthrough year for Megan. At age grade level, she won two European Golds, with British and European records falling along the way. In the XC season, here 1 min 23 winning margin was more than double the Championship’s best ever.

After getting her first taste of senior track competition at the 2023 World Championships in Budapest, this week Megan stormed to Bronze at the European Championships in Rome over the 10k. Later this summer she’ll make her Olympics debut.

Also shortlisted:

  • Katie Shanahan (University of Stirling, swimming)
  • Faye Rogers (University of Aberdeen, swimming)

Volunteer of the Year: Tom Stewart (University of St. Andrews)

There aren’t many jobs Tom doesn’t do in the footballing world at Saints Sport. This year he took on the roles of United Colleges Amateur Football Manager, Receational Coach, Sunday Leagues Coordinator, 2nd Team Player/Coach, and Club Vice-President.

He led twice weekly rec training sessions, and created a club buddy scheme for new members. Supporting athletes at every level of the sport has been his passion, which saw Tom develop a pathway for lover team players to progress across multiple squads.

His popular Sunday league and 6-a-side matches boosted participation, and also supported multiple charity initiatives with over £4.5k raised. His week-in-week-out dedication is unrivaled and his passion for the club and sport is clear for all to see.

Also shortlisted:

  • Gary Caldwell (University of Stirling, football)
  • Alyth Allen (University of Glasgow)

Honorary President’s Medal: Ross Simpson

Ross had dedicated over 15 years of his career to developing student sport at every level.

From his time as Sports Union President at Heriot-Watt University, Ross was a SUS/SSS staff member for six years before moving down the stairs of 48 Pleasance to University of Edinburgh Sport, where over a nine year tenure was instrumental in the great expansion of EUSU.

Ross has taken on many additional responsibilities including being an SSS Executive Committee Member, sitting on various BUCS Committees, helping lead the Volunteer Zambia programme, and having key FISU involvements at the World University Games in 2019 and 2024.

Dr Rob Macpherson Award: Aonghus Sellar (SS Football)

The Dr. Rob Macpherson Award is a special one for SSS – honouring a remarkable man, while celebrating the incredible work that volunteers do to keep our sports and events running throughout the year.

Our recipient for this year has been instrumental in reshaping the image and success of SS Football’s digital presence. Aonghus has put tireless work into reporting on student activities from across Scotland, and doing in-depth research into the history of our competitions to reach a new generation.

Despite being in a new full-time role, Aonghus has no hesitation about using holidays to support, and this season he attended all Conference Finals, plus our Men’s and Women’s Football Finals – even though they took place on separate days!

Aonghus has been a consistent and enthusiastic communicator with the clubs and as he steps up to the Chair role for 2024/25, we can’t wait to see what he has planned to help grow the sport over the coming year.

Also shortlisted:

  • Kirsten Mullen (SS Athletics)
  • Sandy Bond (SS Cycling)